

Welfare Officer

# HOLBEACH TOWN BAND

Enjoying Brass Banding in Holbeach since 1971

**Golden Anniversary** (1971 - 2021)

# Newsletter - January 2023

## ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

The Annual General Meeting of the Band took place on Wednesday 4th January at the bandroom.

The following Officers were appointed:

Chairman **Neil Simons** Vice Chairman Geoff Cooper Musical Director Mel Hopkin Bev Davey Secretary Treasurer Deborah Simpson Music librarian Steve Wynn Uniforms Martin Walters

Terry Harrington has retired as President due to ill health after many years in that post; Nick Worth was appointed President to replace him There is a vacancy for another vice-President.

Deborah Simpson

The following trophies were awarded:

Musical Director's Award (awarded by the Musical Director for Achievement or Service to the Band) to Alex Simpson for progress on solo Trombone

Cecil Cook Trophy (awarded to the Player's Player of the Year) to cornetist Matthew Simons

Jack Hopkin Shield (awarded for achievement in the Training Band) jointly to cornet players Oscar and Eva Stroud

#### COMING UP

Sun 30th April - Moulton Chapel Tuliptime Parade

Sun 7th May - King's Coronation at Carter's Park, Holbeach

Sat 13th May - Spalding Flower Parade

Sat 20th May - Holbeach Air Cadets formal meal

Sun 11th June - Village fete at Fleet Hargate

## BAND MEAL

Thanks to Neil for organising the annual band meal at the Spice Inn, Holbeacxh. Most of the senior band members were there and had a lovely meal. Unfortunately the service was rather slow - perhaps too



many of us! And some members had to get lifts home because their cars were locked in a car park.

#### BAND ROOM

Thanks to Graeme Stroud for mending the water leak and for installing a new heating pipe in the toilet which comes on at very low temperatures and should prevent further frozen pipes.

Thanks also to David Strange for replacing the lock on the toilet door and for mending and improving the door fittings in the kitchen/toilet area.



**OFFICERS** 

Musical Director Chairman Secretary Treasurer

**Neil Simons** Bev Davey Deborah Simpson Welfare Officer Deborah Simpson

Mel Hopkin

mel@mhopkin.co.uk neil@blott.org bevsldavey@gmail.com

deborah.simpson4371@gmail.com deborah.simpson4371@gmail.com